MEF Unveils Americas Board

The Mobile Entertainment Forum (MEF) has announced the results of its 2009 MEF Americas board elections. This years board election had the greatest number of potential candidates seeking to gain a prestigious seat in MEF Americas chapter history. Jim Beddows, representing Motorola was re-elected as Chair of the Americas board; John Orlando, CMO, of LiveWire Mobile was re-elected as Co-Vice Chair; and Gary Schwartz, President and CEO, Impact Mobile was newly elected as Co-Vice Chair. Orlando will continue to focus on the MEF Americas marketing activities, and Gary Schwartz will devote his time to Americas industry initiatives.
The elections followed the MEF Inaugural Mobile Leadership Summit, hosted by the Writers Guild of Americas in Los Angeles, home of Hollywoods leading TV and screenwriters. Over 150 attendees and 16 invited speakers from the LA area and Americas assembled to discuss the key issues that connect the mobile and entertainment communities. The newly expanded MEF Americas Board identified as its key objectives support for initiatives to foster cooperation between the Hollywood and entertainment communities with the mobile industry to accelerate innovation and revenue opportunities; regulatory and policy activities which represent the industry and protect revenues and consumers; trade development activities across the Americas and greater localisation to support the growth of the mobile entertainment industry in these markets, with an expanded focus upon Latin America and Canada; and MEF metrics and intelligence which illuminate the industry and provide competitive advantage to members.
The following board members were elected to the MEF Americas board:

  • Ron Czerny, Founder and CEO, Playphone
  • Gavin Kim, Vice President Content and Data Services and Enterprise Mobility, Samsung Telecommunications America
  • Sanjaya Krishna, Principal and US Digital Services Leader, KPMG LLP
  • Steven Masur, Managing Director, MasurLaw
  • Dan Mo, Senior Program Manager, T-Mobile
  • John Orlando, CMO, Livewire Mobile (re-elected for a second term)
  • Soren Schafft  GM Americas, Fox Mobile Distribution

They join existing board members:

  • Jim Beddows, representing Motorola
  • Massimiliano Pelligrini, CEO, Dada Entertainment
  • Gary Schwartz, President and CEO, Impact Mobile
  • Joe Waimrin, VP Business Development, mBlox

In a separate move, the MEF has appointed Miranda Roberts as Policy and Initiatives Officer.  The MEF says the appointment underlines its commitment to driving mobile entertainment adoption, shaping regulation and delivering competitive advantage to its members.In her new role, Roberts will be providing support and engaging with all stakeholders on key MEF initiatives and policy work. She comes to the MEF from PhonepayPlus, the UK premium rate regulator.