Meffies Winners Revealed

The Mobile Entertainment Forum (MEF) last night unveiled the winners of this years Meffys awards at a gala dinner in Cannes. The Meffys, sponsored by Nokia for the second year running, were hosted by TV presenter and Gadget Show guru Suzi Perry.
The winning entries of the fifth annual awards once again provide a snapshot of the range of products and services, from the mainstream to the advanced, that are entertaining consumers on the go. In recognition of the industrys efforts to offer consumers value for money and easy access to a wide choice of mobile entertainment, two new categories, Quality of Experience and Off-Deck Service, were introduced this year. A further new award, Emerging Markets, highlights the exciting new possibilities for engaging content creators and consumers alike in developing regions.
This years winners were selected from more than 200 submissions from 21 countries covering four continents, underlining the universal appeal of mobile entertainment. 
A focus on discoverability, interactivity, usability and affordability were the common strands shared by this years winners, says MEF Executive Director, Rimma Perelmuter. Above all, the companies selected by the Meffys judges clearly focused on putting the consumer first; attracting and entertaining subscribers though a variety of appealing offerings, including innovative new ad-supported, communities and subscription-based models.
Heres the full list of all the winners:

The Games Award: Nokia Hooked on: Creatures of the Deep 
Hands-On Mobile World Poker Tour: Texas Hold Em 2
Konami Digital Entertainment Metal Gear Solid Mobile
Konami Digital Entertainment Pro Evolution Soccer 2008
Player X Hollywood Hospital

The Music Service Award: mBlox & Myxer Myxer Mobile Music
Gracenote Gracenote Mobile Music Platform
Omnifone Vodafone MusicStation
Shazam Shazam iD
Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications TrackID

The Artist Campaign Award: Absolute Marketing & Distribution Wet Wet Wet SMS Pre-order Campaign
Mozes Rascal Flatts Mobile Campaign
Parlophone & New Visions Kylie Konnect
RCA Music Group Cassidy B.A.R.S. Campaign
Telenor Bigbang Fan Blog

The TV & Video Service Award: Rhythm NewMedia and 3UK Free Video on 3UK
inLive Interactive Interactive Mass Participation
Rubberduck Media Lab Studio 1: Mobile TV Platform
Vantrix Ad-Supported Video Weather Forecasts

The Technology Innovation Award: Zeemote Zeemote JS1 Controller

Bango Bango Analytics
Kyte Kyte
MMCast MMCast
Qualcomm MEMS Technologies mirasol displays

The Content Award: Fun Little Movies Fun Little Movies Channel
BBH Cippis Trump Selecta!
MTV Networks International Digital Originals
Orange Israel and Donna Productions Undercover
Yam112003 Quasi TG

The Communities & UGC Award: Flirtomatic Flirtomatic
Dada, Powered by Me
Juice Wireless JuiceCaster
UTEL Fotochat

The Search & Discovery Award: Gracenote Gracenote Mobile Music Platform
AquaMobile Clic2C
JumpTap SmartComponents
kannuu kannuu
MCN Yahoo! Mobile Japan DigiCon Search

The Marketing Campaign Award: Orange Frank TV
BBH Cippis Trump Selecta!
BBH Lynx Get In There
Orange Wannabe Wicked
Que Pasa Communications V Festival Cross Platform Project

The Handset Application Award: fring fring
Handmark Pocket Express
Juice Wireless JuiceCaster
MMCast MMCast
Picsel Technologies Picsel CUI Browser

Quality of Experience Award: Zeemote Zeemote JS1 Controller
News International Times Mobile
NXP Software SportsDJ
Picsel ePAGE/File Viewer
Surfkitchen Cincinnati Bell My Phone

Off Deck Service Award: Thumbplay Thumbplay
Dada for Web & Mobile
Hungama Mobile FTV
mywaves mywaves
Refresh Mobile Mippin

The Emerging Markets Award: Celtel/Zain & Inmobia Mobile Technology Rock Your World!
Geodesic Mundu Radio: Comprehensive Internet Radio Solution
IMImobile IMImobile UnIspace
Tata Indicom & Opera Software Opera Mini for Low Cost Handsets
Telenor Serbia Telenor WAP Portal Project

The Innovative Business Model Award: MMCast MMCast
Amobee Amobee Media Systems
Nokia N-Gage First Access
Reitek & Comdata Fiat Multi-channel Customer Caring
Yam112003 Quasi TG

The Handset Award: Nokia N95 8GB
Motorola MOTO Z10
Samsung Electronics Soul SGH-U900
Sony Ericsson Italy Sony Ericsson W910i

The Operator Award: Orange Orange
3 UK 3 UK
T-Mobile International T-Mobiles webnwalk 3.0

Meffys Special Recognition award: Greg Clayman, Gordon Gould and Alex LeVine.
The three founders of Upoc received the award for the creation of Upoc, the first mobile community, in 1999.