Instagram has introduced a feature that lets its users control the data they share with third-parties through Instagram.
There are a growing number of photo-printing and website-building apps that offer an option to “Import photos from Instagram” or to “Connect/Link to Instagram.” After connecting the Instagram account to one of these third-party services, the user may grant them access to some of their profile information, such as their username and photos.
Instagram is enabling users can manage their connections to third party services by going to the Instagram app’s settings, then tapping ‘Security’, then ‘Apps and Websites’, From there, they will have the option to remove any third-party services they no longer want connected to their Instagram account. When a user removes a third-party service, they will no longer have access to new data on the user’s account.
To ensure users know what specific data third parties are requesting from them, Instagram is also introducing an updated authorization screen that lists all the information the third party is requesting to access. Users have the option to cancel or authorize this access directly from the authorization screen.
The updates will be rolling out gradually over the next six months.