Swiftkey, Accenture and Relay Ventures Gear up for Judging the Barca Starta Competition

Weve lined up three excellent judges for this years Barca Starta competition happening during Mobile World Congress on Tuesday 25 February.

joebraidwood-headshotWe will hear a keynote from our first judge, Swiftkeys CMO Joe Braidwood, on what it takes to build a successful startup. Joe left a job with News Corp to join Swiftkey in 2009 and now lives in San Francisco.

Swiftkey was founded in London and boasts more than 150 people working on its intelligent language tech. The company, whose keyboard app was the top-selling paid app on Android’s Google Play store in 2012, recently raised $17.5m to expand its product portfolio.

Aidan QuilliganWe will also be joined by Aidan Quilligan, global mobility delivery lead at Accenture Mobility, which creates and builds solutions for mobile devices, network devices, automotive, medical, aerospace and defense.

He said he will be looking for: “A proposition that offers something distinctive and eye-catching, while making money for the start-up. It has to be eye-catching because there are so many ideas and concepts fighting for a very limited attention span in the digital world. There’s no point in having a wonderful offering if it doesn’t benefit the company as well – the two sides need to balance if a business is to be sustainable.”

John OcchipintiFinally, we are joined by John Occipinti, returning judge from last years competition. John is a partner at Relay Ventures, an early-stage investment fund based in San Francisco that works exclusively with mobile software companies. He also currently sits on the boards of Appcelerator, PubNub, Rally and advises Graffiti Labs.

The finalists battling it out for the prize and the glory are: Adzuki Mobile, Alleantia, Capito Systems, Grabyo, INDELEBILE, Kolobee, Sighter, TagPoints, Talkie, Warranty Vault.

To learn more about them see the full announcement story here. Tickets to be in the audience have now sold out. Watch this space to find out who wins!